Community Services



Mission

Augusta Community Services Department believes recreational, educational, childcare, historical, health and welfare, cultural and leisure time activities enhance the qualit{7C7986EC-E793-465E-8178-41E2DFB54664}_Weby of life for citizens of this community.  We are dedicated to protecting, preserving, and enhancing our Park system and natural resources. We meet the demands of the community through effective use of financial and human resources. Our professional staff and volunteers design and deliver quality activities and services to all people. We are committed to sound fiscal policies.

The Community Services Department is responsible for the oversight of seven Bureaus and their respective boards as well as the Conservation Commission and the Cable TV and Telecommunications Committee. The Department provides oversight and management of the Cable TV Franchise Agreement currently in place with Time-Warner Cable LLC.



Contact and Address:

     Community Services Director:
          Leif Erik Dahlin
          Address: 16 Cony St., Augusta, ME 04330
          E-mail: leif.dahlin@augustamaine.gov 
          Office Ph.: (207) 626-2305
          FAX: (207) 626-2354

     Administrative Assistant: 
           Wendy Somes
           Address: 22 Armory St., Augusta, Maine 04330
           Ph # (207) 626-2350 x 4231 
           E-mail: wendy.somes@augustamaine.gov

     Bureau Directors and Staff

          Childcare:
 
               Karen Hatch, Bureau Director
               Address: 22 Armory St., Augusta, Maine 04330
               Ph #: (207) 626-2350 
               E-mail: karen.hatch@augustamaine.gov 

          Health & Welfare:
               Leif Erik Dahlin, Director
               Ph # (207) 626-2325
               E-mail; leif.dahlin@augustamaine.gov  

               Sara Russell, Sr. Caseworker/Technician 
               Ph # (207) 626-2325
               E-mail sara.russell@augustamaine.gov  

               Debra Lymneos, Case worker/Technician
               Ph # (207) 626-2325
               Email: debra.lymneos@augustamaine.gov

{5C99925A-C634-46B1-8DFF-6415E6152C61}_Web         Lithgow Public Library: 
              Director
               Ph # (207) 626-2415
               E-mail 


     Old Fort Western:

          Linda Novak, Director
          Ph #: (207) 626-2385
          E-mail: linda.novak@augustamaine.gov 

          Lorie Mastemaker, Office Assistant
          Ph #: (207) 626-2385
          E-mail:  lorie.mastemaker@augustamaine.gov{8FED5B6C-0B9F-4318-9E5D-FBEB752ABF75}

     Parks, Cemeteries and Trees: 
          Leif Erik Dahlin, Director
          Ph# (207) 626-2352
          E-mail:  leif.dahlin@augustamaine.gov 

          Chris Blodgett, Foreman 
          Email: chris.blodgett@augustamaine.gov

     Recreation: 
          Bruce Chase, Director
          Ph # (207) 626-2350 x 4230
          E-mail:
bruce.chase@augustamaine.gov

           Bob Gregoire, Recreation Clerk
           Ph # (207) 626-2350
           E-mail: rgregoire@augustamaine.gov